78 Eddy St. Attleboro, MA 02703
RI OUI Law
Ignition Interlock Laws in Rhode Island
When you are arrested for a DWI in Rhode Island your license can be suspended in two different ways. An Administrative Suspension happens automatically if you fail a breath test, or refuse to take one. The DMV imposes penalties in this case. You can also undergo judicial suspension, from the criminal court. This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement.
You must deal with both types of suspensions separately. For example, an administrative judge can dismiss your DWI, but you will still have to appear in court to face criminal charges.
Loss of license
|1st Offense||$100 to $400 plus $500
Highway assessment fee
|Up to 1 year or 60
hours community service
|30 days – 18 months|
|2nd Offense||$300 to $1000||Up to 1 year||1 to 2 years|
|3rd Offense||$400 to $5000||1 to 5 years||3 years|
- You can request a hearing to challenge your administrative suspension.
- Severity of the criminal penalty depends on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Rhode Island determines DUI penalties using 3 BAC levels : .08 to .10, .10 to .15, and .15 or higher.
- For 3rd DWI an ignition interlock device is mandatory for 2 years after sentence
- Rhode Island Administrative DWI Penalties include loss of license for 45 days to 2 years, mandatory substance abuse assessment and treatment, possible ignition interlock installation, and possible vehicle confiscation
- There are additional fines and suspension periods for refusing a BAC test and for underage DWI
© 2017 New England Interlock